top of page

Let's get Weird

When Weird Al went on his world tour this past summer, the nearest show when it started that was a full set was at the Palace Theater up in Albany, NY. I REALLLY didn't want to travel four hours away to see him, but after seeing him live three other times I knew it would be a good time. Weird Al's first album was the first cassette tape I bought on my own. It was the first piece of culture I chose to get on my own and use my own resources to get. I was proud of him for hitting number one on the charts last year even though I had no right for any such pride. So two nights ago when I watched this compilation video of his performances of "Tacky" from the tour I was dumbfounded when I saw myself at the 2:02 point.

It's a weird (no pun intended) honor. I'm in the last row of the floor but you wouldn't have found a happier person in the building. It was already going to be awesome, but when I saw the cables running along the aisle I knew something was up. It opened up with him on the sidewalk so it became obvious that he'd be walking by. The amazing part comes from those 10 seconds being chosen. When you look at what it said in the description of the video:

"Between May 12 and Oct. 9, 2015, my band and I performed 112 concerts as part of our Mandatory World Tour, and almost every show started out with a performance of my song "Tacky." As the audience watched on a giant LED screen, a camera crew would follow me as I sang the song, starting from some point outside (or deep within) the venue and eventually winding up on stage. It was always fun for us, because obviously the venues were different every night and every performance of the song was unique. We recorded about half of these performances, and I've spent the last few days editing together this little memento. Hope you like it - see if your city made the cut!"

So out of a hundred and twelve performances only half were recorded, then out of the fifty six or so shows that were the exact five seconds that he walks past me is used in a three minute and three second song. THOUSANDS of other people who attended his shows, and I'm one of the lucky few to actually be able to make out while watching the video. Here, look for me at the 2:02 mark.

Awesome, right?


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page